Overcomer

“My God, My God
why have You forsaken Me”,
the Bible answers Jesus cry
for us for us to free.

Sin is behaving like we’re God,
salvation is God substituting Himself for “man”,
justice requires a price be paid
for “man” to start fresh again.

So the Father had a foolproof plan,
let a sinless man pay for “man’s” mistakes,
thus this sinless man must be selfless and loving
to substitute Himself, “man’s” payment make.

So the Father sent His Son,
His plan now plain to see,
Jesus kept the law for us,
“man” nailed Him to the tree.

But the grave just couldn’t hold Him,
after all He is the Father’s Son,
neither the cross nor cave could bar Him,
our eternal destiny His love had won.

Mason Swinney

Special thinks to John Stott and Timothy Keller

About menmourningmoments

I'm happily married, the Father of 2 sons, 2 daughters and 6 beautiful grandchildren. Death is all around us but somehow we've managed to distance ourselves from it. Men, Women, Moments is about how the death of my son awakened me to life & the desire to seize every moment as though it were my last. It's about making sense of life in the good times and bad and allowing GOD to carry me and teach me through the hard times in life.
This entry was posted in life, Observations and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment