Jedi Spirituality

I’ve heard sayings like “life is what you make of it”; “a picture paints a thousand words”; “life is a journey, not a destination”; “if our life is a story, what does yours say” much of my life. But what do these sayings really mean? Are our lives really stories and, if yes, what kind of stories and who is the author?

When I was younger and looked back over my life up to that point I sensed that there had been a force, like good luck or something similar guiding me and helping things go in a positive direction and benefiting me more than I expected or deserved. But I never really tried to identify the force.

Humans are a whole lot more complex than we’ve been lead to believe and yet so very simple. Likewise, we’re all so very similar but different enough to make each of us unique. Yet much of our young lives we spend trying to hide our uniqueness and the rest of our lives trying to figure out what to do with it.

The older I get the more clearly I see that the force helping me all these years, nudging me one direction or another, sometimes more forcefully than others, and all for my good, has been much more than good luck or karma. It’s been something much more personal and something that’s always has my best interest at heart. Other people might call it fate, others their destiny, or some the road less traveled, but all sense some kind of force directing or at least helping them with their lives.

Perhaps Man’s main life purpose is to note the presence of the force in their lives; identify it; allow it to guide their lives; and to help others to see it. That would profoundly change the  value of each of us in a very dramatic, powerful way.

Obi-Wan Kenobi was right when saying during his goodbyes to his friends the encouraging words “may the force be with you”. I think he might have meant “may ‘The Force’ be with you” though!

Mason Swinney

About menmourningmoments

I'm happily married, the Father of 2 sons and 2 daughters and 4 beautiful grandchildren. Death is all around us but somehow we've managed to distance ourselves from it. Men, Mourning, Moments is about how the death of my son awakened me to life & the desire to seize every moment as though it were my last. It's about making sense of life in the good times and bad and allowing GOD to carry me and teach me through the hard times in life.
This entry was posted in life, Observations and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

