The Child Within

The little child within us
wants to have his say,
but we don’t often listen,
we’re simply to afraid.

His little voice cries softly
at the strangest of times,
like a jolt of caffeine
to a timid, frightened mind.

I’m not able to silence him
I programmed him you know,
and even though the programmer
I’ve a hard time saying no.

I can’t hide from him
though so often I’ve tried;
but he’s vigilant, persistent,
please don’t make me cry.

Is the goal to ignore him
or hang on every word,
believe what he’s selling,
act like he’s absurd?

Is he my conscience
my weaknesses personified,
something from my past
truth congealed, homogenized?

Perhaps my life incarnate
A glimpse into my soul,
he’s been with me forever
you’d think that I’d know?

For better or for worse
we’re inextricably bound together,
though not what God intended
we’re nonetheless tied and tethered.

The little child within me
is he what I want to be?
I really can’t explain him,
he’s just a part of me.

I don’t have all the answers
even the questions seem to blurr
but I know the child within me
helps me stop, to think, demur.

And if he ever left me
would I notice, what’s it mean;
that I’m whole, no longer need ‘im,
or dead and buried or so it seems?

Mason Swinney

About menmourningmoments

I'm happily married, the Father of 2 sons and 2 daughters and 4 beautiful grandchildren. Death is all around us but somehow we've managed to distance ourselves from it. Men, Mourning, Moments is about how the death of my son awakened me to life & the desire to seize every moment as though it were my last. It's about making sense of life in the good times and bad and allowing GOD to carry me and teach me through the hard times in life.
This entry was posted in Observations and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

