Grandkids

Why are grandkids so very very special? My granddaughter and grandson spent some time with us this summer and it dawned on me that they’d awaken some feelings that had been dormant for much to long. I found myself doing things with them that I thought I didn’t like, playing cards for one, and found that it really was fun. Of course it wasn’t the game that was fun but who I was playing it with.

Men, especially, seem to let their jobs take on way more importance than we ought as we’re proving to the world and ourselves that we are important. We get so caught up in the day to day struggles of life and the mundane things that require our constant attention that we miss out on the really important things like our kids, grandchildren, friends.

But fortunately we reach a time in our lives when we realize that we don’t have all that much time left and the light goes on and we start seeing what’s really important. The career we chose, or chose us, hasn’t been nearly as rewarding as we hoped and the drive, the motivation to advance has passed us by. The corporate bottom line has made us more and more expendable and now rather than the rising star we’ve become the drain on assets. But despite how the world sees us our Grandkids think we’re pretty special and they help us see what’s really important and what’s superficial. Grandkids awaken in us the desire to love and be loved. To see what’s important and what can wait. They help us want to play cards and watch wrestling and play school. Grandkids model for us unconditional love and we come to see how much we’ve missed it and how much we need it.

Thank you Brandon and Presleigh for making this a very special summer. 

Mason Swinney

About menmourningmoments

I'm happily married, the Father of 2 sons and 2 daughters and 4 beautiful grandchildren. Death is all around us but somehow we've managed to distance ourselves from it. Men, Mourning, Moments is about how the death of my son awakened me to life & the desire to seize every moment as though it were my last. It's about making sense of life in the good times and bad and allowing GOD to carry me and teach me through the hard times in life.
This entry was posted in life, Observations and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Grandkids

  1. robertdyson says:

    Great tribute and insight Mason. Makes me want to have some (but not anytime soon).
    Here’s the link to that blog post by Kory Capps about Companioning I was telling you about. I think it fits very well with the themes of your blog.
    https://mail.google.com/mail/u/0/?tab=wm#label/Theology/14e72b2d118e74f3

    Liked by 1 person

  2. sherry jones says:

    love it’

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

