Who Am I, Really

Two of life’s big questions are who am I and why am I here. I was journaling the other morning and may have stumbled upon the answer, at least for me.

Over the years I’ve linked who I am with what I do. That seems to be a fairly common thing for men in America to do. When you meet someone for the first time one of the first questions asked is “what do you do”. We seldom answer husband, father, friend, etc. but usually answer by telling them what our job is, manager, carpenter, consultant, fireman, etc. You get the picture.

It dawned on me the other morning that who I am has nothing at all to do with what I do, which I assume I’ve always known, but had not stopped long enough  to really consider, think through.  When God sent Moses to Egypt to rescue the children of Israel and Moses shared his concerns that they wouldn’t listen to him, God told Moses to tell them that I Am sent him. God didn’t explain how that would change their perception of his coming or even what it meant nor the significance and implications of it. He just said tell them I Am sent you.

Like Moses, we are made in God’s image and therefore there is a connection between God’s name for Himself, I Am, and the need each of us has to know who I am. To find the answer we only have to trust the great I Am and slow down long enough regularly to consider the implications of it. In John 17 Jesus prayed that we followers would be in God just as He was in the Father and the Father was in Him. Perhaps God wants us to see that our identity, our significance, our importance was determined by Him long before He ever made Adam and Eve; and when we look into the mirror of God’s word, looking back at us is the great I Am and His name written exclusively over each and everyone of His children’s lives. If a Christ follower, then I am IN the great I Am and nothing else really matters. My true identity is in Him and Him alone and no other explanation is needed. And, just as Moses told the people in Egypt that I Am sent him to help free His children from slavery, so our message to the world is I Am sent us to help free His children from the slavery of sin.

So Whose we are is a much more important question than who am I. And once we understand what it means to be in the great I Am, then who I am no longer really matters. And the by-product of that Life changing truth, comes an incredible peace,  joy and contentment.

Mason Swinney

About menmourningmoments

I'm happily married, the Father of 2 sons and 2 daughters and 4 beautiful grandchildren. Death is all around us but somehow we've managed to distance ourselves from it. Men, Mourning, Moments is about how the death of my son awakened me to life & the desire to seize every moment as though it were my last. It's about making sense of life in the good times and bad and allowing GOD to carry me and teach me through the hard times in life.
This entry was posted in life, Observations and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Who Am I, Really

  1. sherry jones says:

    Amen and Amen.

    Like

  2. Kory Capps says:

    Great post Mason, reminds me of that poem by Dietrich Bonhoeffer “Who am I.” At the end of his wrestling, he concludes, “Lord you know, I am yours.”

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Kory, right on, being His is all that really matters. My younger brother was giving his testimony recently and said that he’d been trying to put together life’s puzzle and came to see he’d been working on the wrong puzzle all his life. Knowing Whose we are is the key to each of our life’s puzzles, I believe. Thanks for reading and sharing.

    Like

Leave a Reply

