Year 4

One day you’re with us,
The next day you’re not;
It’s 4 years later,
The pain hasn’t stopped.

Every cute Asian boy
Reminds us of you,
We cry when we see ’em
Our time together much too few.

Maybe a restaurant,
Anywhere in the world
It hits like a hammer,
our eyes filling with liquid pearls.

But Shaun is with Jesus
He’s happy and he’s free
It’s us who are lonesome,
Thinking what life could be.

A thousand years on earth
Is like a day for the Lord,
So we have to be patient
It’s He who’s in charge.

But today is for Shaun,
A time to reflect,
On the fun times together,
Not dwell on regrets.

And try to remember
God’s got it all worked out,
And Shaun is with Jesus grinning 
There’s no reason to pout.

Smile on sweet Shaun
We’ll be with you very soon
But ’til that day comes
Smile on Shaun, smile on!

Mason Swinney

About menmourningmoments

I'm happily married, the Father of 2 sons and 2 daughters and 4 beautiful grandchildren. Death is all around us but somehow we've managed to distance ourselves from it. Men, Mourning, Moments is about how the death of my son awakened me to life & the desire to seize every moment as though it were my last. It's about making sense of life in the good times and bad and allowing GOD to carry me and teach me through the hard times in life.
This entry was posted in Grief, Memories and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Year 4

  1. Amy Hughes says:

    It seems so fresh in my mind still. I can’t imagine all the little thi gs that trigger you all and bring it fresh to your mind. Thinking of you and praying for you. Can’t wait to see Shaun in Heaven. Having loved ones there makes it so much more real. Love you Mason!

    Like

  2. Candy Konkler says:

    Great tribute to Shaun. Praying for your family. Love you Mason and Roberta.

    Like

  3. sherry jones says:

    sweet poem Mason..remembering Shaun and his sweet smile.

    Like

  4. Thanks everyone for your kind and thoughtful comments. It’s a blessing to have friends like you. We all have our crosses to bear and friends like you make them a little easier to carry.

    Like

  5. Roberta swinney says:

    Mason you have such a way with words! Thanks for sharing your heart.

    Like

  6. Thanks Beautiful. I share words, you share your heart.

    Like

  7. robertdyson says:

    Old friend ( I think I can say that since we’ve known each other almost 20 years) what can I say? Thanks for sharing and for this blog. My son is almost 20 now and we hope he is turning the corner on some issues. I’ve been angry at him so much, but now I just want him to know I care. Your story has helped me think through some of this. I’m sorry I don’t see you on Tuesday mornings anymore. For me, I think it got to be a little bit like it was for you after Shaun’s death. Talk about sports and politics don’t help me with life. I remember being so callous in how I thought about you needing to get back to life and I’m sorry. I can’t even do it with less than you.

    Like

  8. No apology necessary my friend. Glad to hear your good news about Tyler. I understand exactly what you’re saying about what’s important and what’s not when things are going on with your kids. I’m glad you were strong enough to stop coming. Proud of you for not giving up and throwing in the towel. Let’s do coffee when you catch your breath.

    Like

Leave a Reply

