Making Marriage Work

I’m continually amazed at how often I can’t see the forest for the trees and how often “truth” is right in front of me and yet I fail to see it. Let me explain.

I have a great wife and therefore a good marriage. I was for some reason thinking about that this morning and some of the reasons for it. You’ve no doubt heard before, from many marriage experts, the secrets to a great marriage. Such things as praying together; knowing each other’s love language; communicate, communicate, communicate; listening with your ears, hearts, eyes, mind; arguing fairly; wives respect your husband, husbands love your wife; share the household chores; give each other their own space; forgive quickly, think us not me……

Allow me to add one more to that list. It’s something I’ve been doing our entire marriage without really even thinking about its implications. From the moment I first met my wife I always thought she was a much better person than me. More loving, more giving, more gracious, more relational, more dependable, more trustworthy, harder working and on and on. You get the picture.

Then it dawned on me recently why that contribution works. It’s right out of the Bible. Philippians 2: 3 says “Do nothing out of selfish ambition or vain conceit. Rather in humility value others above yourselves”. Although it was probably more low self esteem than humility that has caused me to think so highly of my sweet wife, it worked, even though I wasn’t consciously aware of it, because God’s word is still powerful. Remember, God spoke the heavens and the earth into existence so His word is very powerful. And if His word caused the heavens and earth to be formed, then His word can certainly build a successful marriage, often in spite of our own best efforts.

And I thought it was all because of ME.

Mason Swinney

About menmourningmoments

I'm happily married, the Father of 2 sons and 2 daughters and 4 beautiful grandchildren. Death is all around us but somehow we've managed to distance ourselves from it. Men, Mourning, Moments is about how the death of my son awakened me to life & the desire to seize every moment as though it were my last. It's about making sense of life in the good times and bad and allowing GOD to carry me and teach me through the hard times in life.
This entry was posted in life, Observations and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Making Marriage Work

  1. Ed says:

    I’ve heard you say many times how smart your wife is. I always enjoy your reads. Keep it up.

    Like

Leave a Reply

