Deadlines

I hate ’em,
They get in the way
Of my own agenda
What I want for today.

Are they obstacles or guidelines
Do they help or disturb?
Like the tracks the trains rides on
And without them crashes, burns.

What makes Deadlines evil
Is our need to prevail,
And makes ’em mountains to get over
and not wind for our sails.

When deadlines are absolutes
The goal never be late,
We set ourselves up for failure
They’re a guide not a fate.

So slow down for a moment
And take all of life in
Remember deadlines give structure
And spur us on to begin.

And when life gets scary
Another deadline to meet,
Remember with Jesus in your corner
There’s nothing you can’t defeat!

Mason Swinney

About menmourningmoments

I'm happily married, the Father of 2 sons and 2 daughters and 4 beautiful grandchildren. Death is all around us but somehow we've managed to distance ourselves from it. Men, Mourning, Moments is about how the death of my son awakened me to life & the desire to seize every moment as though it were my last. It's about making sense of life in the good times and bad and allowing GOD to carry me and teach me through the hard times in life.
This entry was posted in Observations and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Deadlines

  1. Ed Swinney says:

    Good post. Love u mason

    Sent from my iPhone

    >

    Like

  2. sherry jones says:

    well said mason

    Like

  3. Ed Swinney says:

    Sent from my iPhone

    Begin forwarded message:

    > From: “Pastor Holly” > Date: December 17, 2014 at 10:40:56 AM CST > To: “‘Ed Swinney'” > Subject: RE: [New post] Christmas > > Ed, > Thanks so much for sharing! I will be using his Christmas poem tonight at MOPS (Moms of Preschoolers) for a devotional time. > Holly > > From: Ed Swinney [mailto:edswinney@hotmail.com] > Sent: Wednesday, December 17, 2014 6:33 AM > To: holly@unionumc.org > Subject: Fwd: [New post] Christmas > > > > Sent from my ASUS > >

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

