Marine Corps 101A

Hurry up and wait, the code of conduct of the Marine Corps. If you had to be somewhere at 7 AM you got up at 4 AM to get there by 6 AM and then waited an hour.

I just finished reading 1 Samuel 13: 11- 12 and Saul’s issues jumped off the pages at me, impatience and control. A lethal, deadly sin combination.

Unfortunately I see that I am a whole lot more like Saul than King David who perhaps learned to be patient and submitted to God’s timing while tending his Father’s sheep. I remember reading that one of the hardest things for Christians to do is to wait on God. We are more into let’s do something even if it’s wrong than simply waiting.

Now I see why. It’s called sin and it raises its ugly head at every turn in my life. I’ve lived much of my life thinking that I can handle the small things that each one of us face daily and when I need you God for the other things, I’ll call you. Maybe that’s why I seem to handle the major things that have happened to me a whole lot better than how I handle the small ones because I’ve turned the big things over to God but kept the small ones to handle myself.

We forget that it took Abraham much of his adult life, Moses’ 40 years, David 10-15 years from the time he was anointed to actually serving as king, and the Apostle Paul 6-7 years before becoming the Apostle to the Gentiles. God prepares you before He uses you and part of that preparation is learning to wait and submit to His agenda, not yours. Like the old saying “God’s never in a hurry but He’s always right on time” is truer than we think. Unfortunately, there’s little consolation for me in seeing how much preparation time it took for these great men of faith before God could use them. Why?, because I’m impatient and controlling and if God would just adhere to my time schedule things would be a whole lot better, or so I think.

Thank goodness God is patient (I’m continually amazed at His incredible patience with me) and forgiving or like Saul, I’d be facing the Philistines “on my own”!

Mason Swinney

About menmourningmoments

I'm happily married, the Father of 2 sons and 2 daughters and 4 beautiful grandchildren. Death is all around us but somehow we've managed to distance ourselves from it. Men, Mourning, Moments is about how the death of my son awakened me to life & the desire to seize every moment as though it were my last. It's about making sense of life in the good times and bad and allowing GOD to carry me and teach me through the hard times in life.
This entry was posted in Observations and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Marine Corps 101A

  1. Ed Swinney says:

    so very true, I was just telling Tommy, a similar about my never ending fear of money. I can handle the BIg bills, I said its the 30-50 ones that drive me crazy. I’m learning to trust god more everyday, but like everyone, I just trust him to use the car on the weekends, I have to have it for work.

    Like

  2. We haven’t fallen very far from the tree have we Ed.

    Like

Leave a Reply

