Is It Over?

It seems as though the world is falling apart all around us. From Israel to the Ukraine to Iraq/Syria to Ferguson, MO to our leaders in Washington to the IRS scandal to the VA hospital debacle to our national debt, lack of jobs and on and on.

In the midst of all this God providentially places in front of me Ezekiel 22: 30, “I looked for a man among them who would build up the wall and stand before Me in the gap on behalf of the land so I would not destroy it, but I found none.” Coincidence? I don’t believe in coincidences but I do believe in a sovereign God who is telling me something and since I blog, perhaps you.

But do I believe it enough to stand in the gap for Him? Do I believe it enough to do whatever He asks of me? Do I believe it enough to completely and totally change? Change my employment?; my spending habits?; my priorities?; my relationships? Change the way I spend my time?; the way I study God’s word?; the way I worship?; my lifestyle?; my entire being?

I’d better, because its time for men and women of faith to stand tall, walk humbly and serve The Lord boldly, lovingly, completely. It’s time for people of faith to think more highly of others than they do of themselves; to turn the other cheek. It’s time to walk the talk, to love unconditionally; forgive wholeheartedly; give unreservedly; sacrifice unhesitatingly; and obey unashamedly.

Are we Christian’s, who by the providence of God have been placed in America, committed enough to The Lord to stand in the gap before the gap, the easy road, widens and this once great nation becomes another speed bump along the road of history?

Mason Swinney

About menmourningmoments

I'm happily married, the Father of 2 sons and 2 daughters and 4 beautiful grandchildren. Death is all around us but somehow we've managed to distance ourselves from it. Men, Mourning, Moments is about how the death of my son awakened me to life & the desire to seize every moment as though it were my last. It's about making sense of life in the good times and bad and allowing GOD to carry me and teach me through the hard times in life.
This entry was posted in Observations and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Is It Over?

  1. robertdyson says:

    This makes me think of something we were talking about this morning. We are naturally so selfish and self centered. We think we’re always right by default. We want pleasure for ourselves, not conflict or difficulty. We are chained, even as Christians, to our flesh which seeks to please itself. How do we escape? Sounds like Paul from Romans 7. I don’t guess we can completely. But at least recognizing the problem is the first step. My spirit would love to operate divorced from the influences of my flesh, and I will try to understand that and operate that way. But until heaven comes I’m stuck with it.

    Like

  2. For me it’s a moment by moment, choice by choice decision, do I honor God or look out for Mason. I take some consolation, like you, in the fact that the Apostle Paul struggled with this same thing. Perhaps it’s part of our faith walk. Thanks for your thoughts and insight Friend.

    Like

Leave a Reply

