Shouldering-Up

Believing someone can walk across Niagara Falls on a tight rope is one thing. Trusting him by getting on his shoulders as he does it is quite another.

“Search me, O God and know my heart, test me and know my anxious thoughts. See if there is any offensive way in me, and lead me in the way everlasting. Psalm 139: 23 to 24.”

My prayer today is that my relationship with God will be such that I am able to ask him to search me and test me but I hate to admit it, it scares me! Not because I doubt the goodness, faithfulness, etc. of God, but because I don’t trust Him as I should. Crazy isn’t it. I trust what He says about Himself in His word but don’t trust Him Him, completely. I completely understand the Father in Mark 9: 24 when asking Jesus to heal his son and Jesus asking him if he believed He could responding, ” I do believe, help me overcome my unbelief.” When it comes to my children, I’m no Abraham marching off to sacrifice Isaac. I’m this Father.

My prayer today, help me Father to be more like Abraham and David and less like Mason!

Mason Swinney

About menmourningmoments

I'm happily married, the Father of 2 sons and 2 daughters and 4 beautiful grandchildren. Death is all around us but somehow we've managed to distance ourselves from it. Men, Mourning, Moments is about how the death of my son awakened me to life & the desire to seize every moment as though it were my last. It's about making sense of life in the good times and bad and allowing GOD to carry me and teach me through the hard times in life.
This entry was posted in life and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Shouldering-Up

  1. Candy Konkler says:

    yep, less of me and more of Him! My prayer too!

    Like

  2. robertdyson says:

    It does seem crazy, or illogical, to trust God for something like the very salvation of our souls, but then think He can’t or won’t do something of a more mundane nature. I wonder if we view salvation very abstractly, and when we think about God helping us with everyday, practical things – those seem less likely to have His interaction. Maybe with salvation, we don’t have to put any ‘skin’ in the game, just confess and believe, but with daily matters we have to put ourselves out there and deal with the consequences.

    Like

Leave a Reply

