Draw Near To God

Up to this point in my life I have noted that much about how my day will go depends a lot on the quality of the time I’ve spent with God that morning. Of late, I’ve noticed something else. The quality of time I’ve spent with God the night before effects the quality of my time with The Lord the following morning. Some of you are thinking, duh doesn’t everyone know that. I probably should have but satan is real good at getting me all tied up with the good things of life at the expense of the best things.

I love to read. But when I’m reading Christian novels by authors like George MacDonald or Grace Livingston Hill rather than novels about World War II, which I also like, I find that I’m drawn closer to God through the lives of the people they write about and their Christian response to life’s challenges and circumstances. To say it another way, I’m inspired to live my life more intentionally, more God-centered.

I’m not suggesting that you stop reading non-Christian novels. That’s for you and The Lord to decide. But I know me, which is itself a positive step forward, and my challenge is to be more disciplined in my reading and the ways I recreate. We are suppose to do all things to God’s glory and God’s glory deserves the best things, not the good things!

Mason Swinney

About menmourningmoments

I'm happily married, the Father of 2 sons and 2 daughters and 4 beautiful grandchildren. Death is all around us but somehow we've managed to distance ourselves from it. Men, Mourning, Moments is about how the death of my son awakened me to life & the desire to seize every moment as though it were my last. It's about making sense of life in the good times and bad and allowing GOD to carry me and teach me through the hard times in life.
This entry was posted in life, Observations and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Draw Near To God

  1. You are such a Godly role model and husband and I love you for that!

    Like

  2. sherry says:

    Well said Mason..How’s the plant ? 🙂

    Like

  3. Thanks Sherry; no change yet in the plant.

    Like

Leave a Reply

