God’s Glory

What do I mean when I say that I am living and doing all things for God’s glory? Sometimes I think and say things about God’s glory that actually make God appear to be selfish and suggesting something that is contrary to God’s character? By that I mean do I sometimes interpret scripture in a way that sounds biblical but may impugn the character of God?

For example, God works all things, even bad things, together for my good. Am I perhaps guilty, though maybe even unconsciously, of thinking that God allows these bad things for the express purpose of working them together for my good forgetting that I probably deserve as a sinner most of the bad things that happen to me. Doesn’t that fly in the face of God being a God of love that wants nothing but the best for me? A God who is preparing unimaginable blessings for those that love him (1 Corinth. 2: 9).

Chapter 31 of that same book tells us that the path of God’s glory is the cross, the ultimate example of how much God loves His people. How do we as broken men and women understand God’s love and God’s holiness without the cross. For the truest expression of God’s holiness is God’s love and the Cross is the ultimate expression of a Holy God’s love.

If cheap grace is salvation without sanctification then what is cheap love? Cheap love is misunderstanding the depth and commitment of God’s love for sinners like me. Cheap love is love without the cross. It’s a love that forgets the greatest ever example of love, Jesus on the cross. Yes, love is a feeling but it’s also an action. And as Jesus modeled for us on the cross, true love costs us everything, including our very lives.

“And now these three remain, faith, hope and love; but the greatest is love”.

Mason Swinney

About menmourningmoments

I'm happily married, the Father of 2 sons and 2 daughters and 4 beautiful grandchildren. Death is all around us but somehow we've managed to distance ourselves from it. Men, Mourning, Moments is about how the death of my son awakened me to life & the desire to seize every moment as though it were my last. It's about making sense of life in the good times and bad and allowing GOD to carry me and teach me through the hard times in life.
This entry was posted in life, Observations. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to God’s Glory

  1. Candy Konkler says:

    Great Mason. God works ALL things for good, for those who love him and are called according to his purpose. The good bad things have in my life, is to draw me closer to Him. To increase my faith, and to test my faith. To develop a closer relationship with Him the author of my salvation, the giver of life, love, hope, forgiveness. To empower me to love, forgive. I believe it also works things for good for others, who watch this progess of my growth through a trying time, to draw them to the saving grace of Jesus. God works all things for good, because God is good, all the time and all the time He is good. And he wants the best for us.

    Like

    • I think it was CS Lewis who said that God whispers to us in our pleasures but shouts to us in our pain. Bad things do help us to grow in faith & dependence on God. Thanks for reading the blog and your wise comments.

      Like

  2. Christina says:

    Love this Mason! Love you

    Like

  3. Amy says:

    Could not agree more, people often forget, we have to love him and be called according to HIS purpose for him to work all together for good. This verse probably gives me more hope than any on the bible for my time here on this earth. Also, love that you wrote love is also an action… there was a song titled ‘Love is a Verb’ and it really should be. Great work as always Mason!

    Like

Leave a Reply

