Three Years

One day you’re with us,
The next day you’re not.

What happened, what changed,
What caused you to doubt.

I’m sorry we failed you
We did what we could.

I know we’ll see you someday
But someday’s a long way off;

And now’s where the pain lives
and only you can salve that.

Waiting to again see you
Is like longing the sun to rise,

It bursts on the scene
With such beauty and style.

Each sunrise so different
But remarkably the same,

As though God made it daily
With a new face every day.

Still trusting’s not easy,
Acceptance harder still,

But we know God is sovereign
And we submit to His Will.

Today we stop to remember
All the good times we had

And thank God Shaun’s still grinning,
It’s only us that are sad.

We miss you Shaun!

Mason Swinney

Please, all rights reserved. Contact me for use of any portion of it.

About menmourningmoments

I'm happily married, the Father of 2 sons and 2 daughters and 4 beautiful grandchildren. Death is all around us but somehow we've managed to distance ourselves from it. Men, Mourning, Moments is about how the death of my son awakened me to life & the desire to seize every moment as though it were my last. It's about making sense of life in the good times and bad and allowing GOD to carry me and teach me through the hard times in life.
This entry was posted in Grief and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Three Years

  1. Amy says:

    This day saddens me for you all so much and as Shaun’s friend. I miss him. I’m so sorry you have to go through this hurt. Chris and I love you all so very much and are always here for you. I hope your able to celebrate Shaun’s life today. Love you!

    Like

  2. Thanks Amy for the food this morning & going to the cemetery and the pretty yellow roses. Shaun liked the color yellow a lot. Thanks to Chris also for his very thoughtful text. It’s when you go through something like this that you see how important friends are and we couldn’t have made it without the Hughes & Green’s. Love you guys more than you’ll ever know.

    Like

Leave a Reply

