“My God, My God, why have You forsaken Me”

These painful words of Jesus
so very hard to hear
though most have thought ’em
throughout eternity.

Why are we so prone
to blame God when life unravels,
yet forget all about Him
when the roads more easily traveled.

Yet Jesus isn’t any man,
He is God’s only Son
and came to reconcile us
to the awesome three in one.

Man’s sin required a payment,
for sins wall to be torn down
but it couldn’t be made by any man
He had to wear God’s crown.

So Jesus made our payment
on the cross at Calvary
and the Father seemed to turn away
for His pain was hard to see.

But Jesus’ very nature
is relationship and love
and would naturally be confounded
feeling separated from Above.

But though He felt forsaken
with the weight of sins despair
their relationship never faltered
the Father’s love was always there.

We trivialize the passion
of Jesus on the cross
when we try to understand it
from the perspective of the lost,

’cause Jesus truly loved us
that’s plain for all who see
but such love is incomprehensible
to sinners like you with me.

Mason Swinney

Please, all rights reserved. Contact me for use of any portion of it.

About menmourningmoments

I'm happily married, the Father of 2 sons and 2 daughters and 4 beautiful grandchildren. Death is all around us but somehow we've managed to distance ourselves from it. Men, Mourning, Moments is about how the death of my son awakened me to life & the desire to seize every moment as though it were my last. It's about making sense of life in the good times and bad and allowing GOD to carry me and teach me through the hard times in life.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to “My God, My God, why have You forsaken Me”

  1. Susan says:

    Your a real poet! That’s really good.

    Like

  2. Written from the heart. Very good!

    Like

  3. Amy says:

    I love your poems, I really see you coming out of that “bubble” in them 🙂 I’m going to pass on your blog to a client that I feel it could help.

    Like

  4. Pingback: Matthew 27:46 My God, my God, why have you forsaken me? | metricfunk27

Leave a Reply

